top of page

Review: The Black Doves (Glasgow, Scotland)

I admit that I am addicted to online social media, especially Instagram. I usually spend more than 1 hour per day just on Instagram lol. Yea I found The Black Doves restaurant pictures on my Instagram news feed and their food looks gorgeous. Plus, there are good reviews on TripAdvisor so I decided to give it a try!

My boyfriend and I went for a dinner. I ordered a cocktail - The Hoxton tea party, it was very sweet and a bit tangy it's totally my type! The cocktail shifted my appitite for food lol.

Hoxton tea party cocktail

Not long after my enjoyment of a tea pot cocktail, the first dish of the restaurant's old favourite menu came. It's a pork belly scotch egg with Chorizo jam and apple salad. The scotch egg crust, egg itself, and apple salad are perfectly done. Chorizo jam is too sweet by itself but if eating it with scotch egg >> The best combination!

pork belly scotch egg

Shortly after the first dish, my favorite seafood, pan seared scallops with mash potatoes and creamed pearl barley. The perfectly cooked scallops captured my heart! <3 However, barley were a bit under cooked. On the other hand, creamy sauce are greatly seasoned. I'll give it a thumb up!

The third and fourth dishes are served together after we devoured first two dishes within 10 minutes lol. The dishes are white crab spaghetti with fresh chili and rocket pesto, and ox cheek steak pie with garden pea puree. i like the taste combination of spaghetti dish but it's too oily. For the steak pie crust is too dry and the ox cheek itself is lack of flavour and seasoning but the texture is very soft.

Overall, I love cocktail the most <3 but all dishes are quite nice as well! If I have a chance I would greatly visit this restaurant again!

Thank you for reading <3

Restaurant Website: https://www.blackdovedining.com/

Check my other reviews:

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page